28 Days

No, I’m not referring to the Sandra Bullock movie, and contemplating entering “shopping rehab”!  I’m going to try something for February and see how it goes:

For the 28 days of February, I’m going to wear an outfit each day that cost me $28 or less!  This way I can show off some of the great bargains I’ve been finding at my secondhand stores lately.

First, some guidelines and ground rules:

  • I’m not going to count hose and tights as part of the cost.  I will count leggings, because I will most likely wear them as replacements for pants.
  • I’m also not counting jewelry and other accessories such as scarves, purses and belts.  I’m not a big accessorizer in the first place, I don’t wear earrings, and I usually wear the same necklaces over and over.
  • Footwear is going to be tough, but I think I can do it.
  • Like most everything I do, this may have to be tweaked as I go.

A note about footwear – many people are queasy about buying secondhand or previously worn footwear.   I can totally understand that. ….I used to never  even look at the shoe section at a thrift store, because the last thing I wanted to do was wear somebody else’s old smelly shoes.  Then one day, I ran across these:

Franco Sarto suede ankle boots, never worn, in my size for $9.99.  Hubba hubba, come to mama!

The fact is, many, many never-worn shoes and boots end up at thrift/secondhand stores. Finding a great pair of new shoes or boots for pennies is one of the main reasons I keep going  back.  In fact, if you enjoyed The Coat Chronicles, just wait until you read the upcoming Brown Boot Report.

I have a good friend who kind of wrinkled her nose when I told her I bought shoes at Goodwill before;  a week later, she marched up to me and proudly pointed to her feet and exclaimed:  “Nine West.  Brand new.  $6.59.  LOVE THEM!”

I smiled at her knowingly. There’s no better feeling than finding a gem like that.

OK, there’s quite a few better feelings…….but let’s get back to fashion and secondhand shopping…

And let’s get back to my challenge.

Here is my first of 28 outfits in 28 days for $28 or less:

(Drum roll please)

Jacket:  Carducci ($4.59)

Shirt:  Pursuits, Ltd. ($3.59)

Skirt:  Casual Corner ($3.39)

Shoes:  Ellen Tracy ($3.39)

Total cost:  $14.96

Heck, there’s enough to spare for the dry cleaning costs!

And speaking of great shoes, these Ellen Tracy sling backs are also on the top my list of incredible finds.  They were absolutely brand new when I bought them, and I get so many compliments when I wear them.  MEN have even complimented me on what great shoes they are.  Not bad for $3.39!

OK, there you have it!  The first of 28 outfits that cost me less than $28.  I can’t wait to see what I’m going to come up with!  Can you?

4 thoughts on “28 Days”

Leave a comment